Cancer Ribbons – Which Color for Which Cancer?

Colors are used as a symbol for many things. Adopted as ribbon colors, they each represent awareness for the different types of cancer. Support and advocacy groups against cancer have adopted these and share the same insight on the color they represent.

Cancer ribbons

Clear or Pearl Ribbon

This represents awareness to lung cancer and lung diseases. It originated from the belief that air (which is closely related to the lungs’ function) is signified by such ribbon color.

Yellow Ribbon

This represents bone,liver and/or bladder cancer. This also signifies suicide prevention and troop/military support.

Pink Ribbon

Breast cancer awareness is being represented by the pink ribbon. This also suggests femininity and nursing mothers. When pink and blue appears together in a ribbon, it represents the inflammatory type of breast cancer.

Teal Ribbon

Ovarian cancer is represented by the ribbon having a teal color. It also represents agoraphobia and anxiety disorders.

Orange Ribbon

This symbolizes awareness for kidney cancer. Apart from that, it is also used as a symbol for leukemia, attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) and self-injury awareness.

Gold Ribbon

Childhood cancers are often represented by a gold ribbon. These include cancers most common during these years such as the types of leukemia.

Purple, Periwinkle & Violet Ribbon

There might be a confusion between the two colors but purple appears to be much lighter than violet. Purple represents awareness for pancreatic cancer aside from also representing awareness for diseases such as cystic fibrosis, fibromyalgia, lupus and Alzheimer’s disease. The violet ribbon, on the other hand, symbolizes the progression of Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, which is a malignancy in the lymphatic tissues. On the other hand, periwinkle appears to be a mixture of blue and purple and it signifies awareness for stomach cancer.

Red Ribbon

Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome or AIDS is best represented by a red ribbon since used in 1991 by the New York Visual AIDS Artists Caucus. It is also used in advocating awareness for heart and vascular diseases.

Blue and Dark Blue Ribbon

Bearing the masculine nature of its color, it signifies awareness for prostate cancer. It also represents child abuse awareness. A dark blue ribbon, on the other hand, represents colon cancer which is more common to males.

Gray Ribbon

This color represents brain cancer, reflecting the believed color of the brain of somehow grayish in nature. This also represents awareness for asthma and diabetes.

Color Combinations

A combination of teal and pink represents thyroid cancer. A zebra print represents carcinoid cancer and a rainbow print represents adrenocortical carcinoma.

Lavender Ribbon

In general, the lavender ribbon represents cancer and cancer awareness regardless of its type.

Similar Posts:

Posted in Cancer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.